This movie inspires me! Moves me! Makes me want to be a better woman, and it makes me want to VOTE! Next time you skip your turn at the ballot box think of how hard women fought to get you that right! They were beaten, starved and harassed! This film, staring Hillary Swank, takes place in 1918 at the hight of the american suffragette movement. They were arrested for picketing a war time present (Woodrow Wilson) fighting for the right to vote. While in prison they were beaten and subject to numerous humiliations. The suffragets went on a hunger strike and were force fed in severly cruel manners. This movie WILL inspire you. 

Shortly after seeing this film some girlfriends and I took a raod trip to Ottawa to view the "Famous Five" statue on Parliment Hill: Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Lousie Crummy McKinney and Henrietta Muir Edwards. These women bravely challenge the 1928 Canadian Supreme Court ruling that women are not persons under law. Not suffragetes, but a rich part of Canadian Women's history.
Here is a picture of me, I was so excited to finally see it...and I had just graduated with my degree in Women's Studies. I was double excited!
Picture
Then of course there is the story of how we got lost driving to Ottawa....and wound up in Quebec. Didnt notice it until we saw this:
Picture
Silly french stop signs!
Kenzie
11/4/2010 02:31:08 pm

I love this movie so much. When I saw it, I was completely blown away and proud. I really need to watch it again sometime soon :)

Reply
Amy
11/6/2010 12:06:12 am

LMAO

How I do love a drive down memory lane ;)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.