This Saturday morning I got out of bed, put on my cozy slippers and walked out into the living room...to see that it had SNOWED! It was the morning of the first day of my second trimester and all seemed perfect in the world. I was snug and warm in my PJ's, my kitties were curled up on a blankie on the couch, and the whole world was quite, still and white.

That is when I noticed that Ryan wasn't home. After looking around the house for him I returned to the living room to see him walk through the door with a bouquet of flowers, a card, and a yummy Gingerbread Latte from Starbucks! "Happy first trimester sweetie!!" he said. I am the luckiest girl in the whole wide world.

So far this trimester is off to a fairly good start. My energy level is still low, but much better then it was before and food tastes normal again! I can pretty well eat anything now! HOORAY!!!!!! But I am not sleeping well, and my moods are pretty erratic. To be expected I guess as I have a lot on my mind, but I also have a history of "the blues" and a mother who got really bad post-partum depression with both children. At times it is hard for me to know what is "normal" pregnancy swings and what I should be wary of.

My midwife has referred me to a reproductive psychologist as she feels she will better be able to help me tell the difference between "normal" and "warning signs". Not that I am going crazy or anything, more that I just want to do all I can to be healthy in body and mind for this child. Also, lets face it, when you didn't have a healthy relationship with your own mother, it is pretty wild to think of yourself as becoming a mother. Well, at least it is for me. So I am going to give this head doc a try!

Those of you who have experienced the blues during pregnancy what helped you? What worked? What didn't? Do share. I don't feel that women talk about this side of pregnancy enough! Lets all help each other
11/22/2010 06:38:49 am

That is so sweet of your hubby!! :D

I had Post-partum depression, and ended up taking Zoloft (still on it, but weaning myself slowly). Don't be afraid to ask for help from your midwife or doctor. Seriously.

I also had a lot of trouble during the pregnancy - mentally and physically. I was scared and unhappy. If I hadn't had the wonderful support of my Midwife/NP, i don't know if I would have made it.

Exercising helped a little - short walks to think and listen to music were very therapeutic for me. Make sure to continue your fun activities as long as you are able; they will keep you happy.

Feel free to email me if you have any other questions. :)

Reply
chels
11/23/2010 12:44:21 am

Good for you Kami, it is just great to see you taking charge of yourself and taking the necessary measures to ensure a healthy and happy pregnancy.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.