This weeks film in review is Baraka. A silent film with the most stunning imagery from around the world you will ever see. It has been said that it has no plot, however I would argue that it most definatly does! It is a cross cultural comparrison of lives and traditions around the world, and how these different societies view the world around them. It will make you want to travel, I promise! Here is a clip from the theatrical trailer:
I first saw this film when I was 21 years old and I vowed right then and there that I would go to Bali...and nearly ten years later I did! The film will take you to Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Equador, Egypt, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonessia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kuait, Nepal, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Tzanzania, Thailand, Turkey and the United States. It is an older film now so if you can get your hands on a digitally remastered version I would highly reccomend it!



chels
10/7/2010 05:49:34 am

love love love this film, when i was a Big Sister I rented it for my little sister to watch, she was amazed just as much as i was when i first watched, we discussed the imagery for weeks afterward as there are so many poignant scenes. stunning beautiful film, great pick!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.