Picture
I have recently started reading a great magazine called "Spirituality and Health" and they had this challenge in their current issue...ten things I could do right now to practice gratitude. I gave it a whirl

1. Write down one thing that has made you grateful to be alive today:

enjoying a quiet morning with a cup of coffee,  my hubby, and Baby Kitty...all of us watching the birds in our yard as they get ready for winter. I was grateful for my beautiful home, little family of boy+girl+kitties=love, and for the nature that surrounded me.

2. Off the top of your head, write down 10 things that you would say are sacred to you

  1. My relationship with Ryan
  2. My cats
  3. spending time alone
  4. bubble baths
  5. books
  6. nature
  7. temples of all faiths
  8. family memories
  9. horses
  10. yoga/meditation
3. Think of someone who has hurt you or betrayed you, and make a commitment to work on forgiving him or her
I don't think I am at a place in my spiritual journey were I can "forgive" quite yet, but I can try to understand my mother and why she was the way she was

4. Read a short piece from any of the world's spiritual traditions and let it inspire you for the day


There are different wells within your heart.
Some fill with each good rain,
Others are far too deep for that.

In one well
You have just a few precious cups of water,
That "love" is literally something of yourself,
It can grow as slow as a diamond
If it is lost.

Your love
Should never be offered to the mouth of a
Stranger,
Only to someone
Who has the valor and daring
To cut pieces of their soul off with a knife
Then weave them into a blanket
To protect you.

There are different wells within us.
Some fill with each good rain,
Others are far, far too deep
For that.

(Hafiz, a Sufi poet)

5. Create a spontaneous prayer, right now!
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

6. Make a commitment to a spiritual practice, even a simple daily meditation:
I am going to re-instate my yoga alter and every day acknowledge the presence of a higher power...whether I sit there and meditate for 20 minutes or I simply light a candle and offer a quick prayer to the cosmos for guidance.

7. Who can you call right now who is grieving, or ill, stressed or unemployed that could use your love? How can you make their burden easier?
Well I can't do it "right now" but soon I need to call Jenny, I know she needs some sister chats...and I have been bad at keeping up with them. When my anxiety is bad, like it currently is phones and me don't always work well together...and I can fall out of touch easily.

8. Take animal products out of the equation for one entire day, what sort of meals can you come up with?
Well every Monday is meatless monday in my household, so that is no problem! Last week was a vegan smoothie for breakfast, veggie bean/tofu chilli for lunch, and veggie japanese curry for dinner!

9.Think of a simple way you can give back to the community (any community), and a way to get your friends involved

I need to write a letter to my sponsor child in Burkina Faso, I still have yet to do that and I have been sponsoring her and her village for over a year! I promise to send her a package and I encourage my friends to contribute! Maybe we can create a unique care package for this little girl full of womanly love and advice from Canada?!? Who is with me?

10.Make a commitment today to give back to a charity, what will you choose?
LOL! See above! :)
Chels
11/23/2009 12:14:25 pm

how awesome i love your 10 list and i'll try to think of something to contribute to your package!

Reply



Leave a Reply.